My first teenage hangover


Spent the weekend at Wellington Education Festival exhibiting Stuck on homework and listening to some inspiring speeches by Sir Bob Geldof, A.A.Gill and Sir Terry Leahy.  My friend and ex-child minder K came to stay to babysit the children and the house, despite my DD’s requests to be left alone  ‘ You can trust us, it’s not like we’re stupid enough to have a party or something ‘. This is not all reassuring as DD has clear criteria as to what constitutes a party and apparently anything under 20 teens is ‘ A Gathering ‘. If you have ever seen 20 teenagers in one normal sized house you will know that it is more like a Viking raid than a bloody ‘ gathering’, so K stayed over to supervise.

I returned last night to find the house clean and tidy apart from a crate of empty beer bottles next the sink and my DD with what seemed suspiciously like a hangover.  It turned out the empties were the result of DS and a few of his mates spending the afternoon in the back garden wearing flat caps and sunglasses drinking ‘like northerners’ in celebration of the visit of J’s Manchester cousin. Only a couple of lads were still there and no one was the worse for wear so northerners are clearly a good drinking role model. DD on the other hand looked decidedly ropey. She had spent the previous night at  a party .‘ Yeah, about 50, definitely a party, L’s parents are so cool they didn’t even mind when P was sick in the pond. There’s, like,  fish in it ‘.  ‘ Not anymore ‘ I tell her. ‘ So, you appear to have a hangover…’ “ It’s not a hangover, I just drank a bit much and I don’t feel very well today ‘ .  ‘ That’s what a hangover is. And you’re too young to have one so no more parties for a month ‘. I ignore the immediate rise in decibels as DD berates me for my meanness and lack of understanding as to what it’s like to be young –  she’s wrong of course, it’s because I remember only too well what it’s like to be 15 that I can see through DD’s flimsy attempts to pass off her first hangover.  She slams the kitchen door loudly behind her as she leaves the kitchen and I put some washing on, empty and reload the dishwasher and debate whether to go out for a bit with the most low maintenance and easy going member of the family – the dog. DS enters the kitchen. ‘ What’s for supper, I’m starving? And can you take me to rugby tomorrow and I need to get some new shoes…’ ” I kneel down beside the dog and whisper in his ear ‘ I like you best ‘.

4 comments
  1. Hi there!
    Thanks for getting back to me, thats great. Will your teens be doing Maths work over the summer? As if so I can arrange the trial asap or if it would suit better we could arrange it to start when they are back at school?
    Thanks again
    Helen

  2. I am not looking forward to this stage of life but I am putting the practise in now with my under 8’s. All I can say is it could have been a lot worse.

Leave a Reply

